#9 The Trout

Sunday 15th December, 3-4pm

The Old Museum Building, Studio 2

480 Gregory Terrace, Bowen Hills

Purchase Tickets 


Johann Sebastian Bach – Partita in A minor for solo flute, BWV 1013

Franz Schubert – Piano Quintet in A major, D.667 ‘Trout’


Jonathan Henderson – Flute

Anne Horton – Violin

Yoko Okayasu – Viola

Oliver Scott – Cello

Marian Heckenberg – Double Bass

Alex Raineri – Piano

Beethoven revered Bach as an ‘immortal god of harmony’. Schumann commented that ‘music owes as much to Bach as as religion to its founder’. Brahms once commented that upon studying Bach’s music ‘there, you will find everything’. Such awe-inspired words from some of history’s most revered composers consolidate the transcendental influence that Bach had on the trajectory of Western music, a composer of profound imagination and cosmic creativity.

Schubert’s five-movement ‘Trout’ Quintet derives its nickname from an earlier Schubert Lied, Die Forelle (The Trout) which is referenced in the fourth movement of the quintet. The inclusion of double bass instead of second violin (which would have completed the usual string quartet line-up) facilitated an original approach to piano writing. With such a powerhouse of bass support from the cello and double bass, the piano is often deploying use of the upper register of the instrument, lending an aura of freshly reimagined balance within the ensemble. The work is filled with musical conversations, gorgeous melodies, unexpected harmonic shifts and an unprecedentedly chromatic slow movement. Fishy business indeed!

Ticket price includes a complementary drink and light refreshments after the performance.

Yoko Okayasu – Photo: Peter Wallis


%d bloggers like this: